CEDAR FALLS TURKEY BOWL VIII

Defense and Deines Lead Orange Crush to 19-0 Win Over 1919

(Recap by Blake Ruane)

The Orange Crush defense forced 5 turnovers and the offense was able to capitalize in a hard-fought 19-0 win over Team 1919 Root Beer in the 8th annual Cedar Falls Turkey Bowl at Peet Junior High. The offense benefited from an opportunistic defense that smothered 1919 the entire game, forcing turnovers that allowed their offense to work with a short field. The star of the show was undoubtedly rookie Jared Deines, who caught 2 touchdown passes from team captain Dustin Salmons in the first half to lead Crush to a 13-0 lead over 1919 at halftime. Deines was sensational on both sides of the ball, even knocking down a potential touchdown pass on 4th down on 1919's first offensive drive of the game.

Weather conditions were much improved from last year, with temperatures in the upper 40's and no snow on the ground. But several veteran Crush players experienced flashbacks to the wet and wild Turkey Bowl of 2007 when Salmons threw an interception to Taylor Anderson on the first play from scrimmage, setting up 1919 with 1st and Goal. Their backs were against the wall, but the Crush defense stepped up and held 1919 out of the end zone to take over on downs. That red zone stand set the tone for the Crush defense, and that first drive would be the closest that 1919 would come to scoring a touchdown all game.

Scoring would not open up until two drives later, when pressure from defensive tackle Mike Bangtson and linebacker Blake Ruane caused 1919 quarterback Zack Welter to fumble, and defensive end Daniel Sale was able to recover the football. On the ensuing drive, Salmons found Deines in the end zone for the first of two touchdowns on the day, with Deines hauling in a tough catch after bobbling the ball. Luke Patterson nailed the PAT and Crush took the first lead of the game, going up 7-0.

Yet another turnover would doom 1919 in the second quarter, with Luke Patterson nabbing an interception on a deep pass attempt intended for 1919 wide receiver Bobby Brummel. Patterson was able to weave his way to the 10-yard line before being pushed out of bounds by Mark Iehl. One play later, Salmons and Deines connected again on another bobbled catch for a touchdown, extending the Crush lead to 13-0 after a missed 2-point PAT attempt by Patterson.

The 1919 offense just couldn't find much breathing room against the Crush defense. Welter and Anderson alternated at quarterback, but incomplete passes, broken plays, and turnovers plagued the offense. The 1919 defense did their part to keep the team in the game, with defensive linemen Tyler Ruane and Matt Hinders both collecting sacks in the Crush backfield. The defense did their best to bend but not break, but frequent mistakes on offense put the defense in bad spots time and time again.

Late in the fourth quarter, Sale recovered a botched snap in the 1919 backfield on a quarterback sneak attempt and took it to the house untouched for 6, extending the score to 19-0 and effectively closing the door on a comeback from 1919. Matt Hoffert recorded two fourth quarter interceptions, including one in the end zone to close out the game on a Hail Mary pass from 1919.

In the end, mistakes piled up for Team 1919 Root Beer, and Team Orange Crush capitalized. You can't lose the turnover battle and expect to win. Special thanks to all of the fans who were in attendance! Our officiating crew of Craig Patterson and Ed Anderson also deserve our appreciation, not to mention Dean Salmons for operating the down marker and Mike "Pops" Ruane for commentating from the press box.

Turkey Bowl IX is one year from now. Are you in?

Post-Game Notes

- This is the fourth consecutive year that the team with the second pick of the draft has won. Prior to the current four-game losing streak, the team with the first pick of the draft had been 4-0.
- Ryan Rink and Dustin Salmons are now tied for the most Turkey Bowl wins. Both hold a career record of 6-2.
- Both of Rink's losses have come against Mike Bangtson. Bangtson is now 2-0 against Rink. Both losses for Rink have also been preceded by a 3-game winning streak. This also marks his first loss to Orange Crush. His previous loss was to 1919 Root Beer in 2010.
- Bangtson, Jared Deines, and Alec Braun are now the only active players with an undefeated career record.
- Jared Deines is now the lowest drafted player to ever be voted MVP. Deines was drafted 10th. The previous low was Zack Welter at 8th in 2013.
- Deines is also the second rookie to be voted MVP. The first was Ben Schmidt in 2011.
- Blake Ruane recorded his first career win against Tyler Ruane. In three previous games against his brother, Blake was 0-2. When on the same team, the Ruane brothers hold a record of 2-3.
- Luke Patterson and Jeremy Good have now been on the same team for 8 consecutive years. The two have never faced each other and hold a career record of 5-3 together. #Inseparable
- Tony Patterson now holds a record of 1-0 when drafted. When undrafted, Tony is 0-1.
- Ben Patterson and Michael Rogers both dropped to 0-3 with the loss. Through three games, neither one has been part of a team that has scored an offensive touchdown.
- Zack Welter and Matt Hinders are now 0-1 when on the same team.

Individual Game Statistics

Team Orange Crush

Team 1919 Root Beer

Dustin Salmons - 2 Passing TDs

None

Jared Deines – 2 Receiving TDs

Daniel Sale – 1 Fumble Return for TD

Team Rosters

<u>Team 1919 Root Beer</u> (Light-Colored Jerseys)

Captain: Zack Welter

1. Taylor Anderson

3. Bobby Brummel

5. Kevin Bernard

7. Matt Hinders

9. Mark Iehl

11. Ethan Korf

13. Tyler Ruane

15. Ryan Rink

17. Michael Rogers

19. Ben Patterson

<u>Team Orange Crush</u> (Dark-Colored Jerseys)

Captain: Dustin Salmons

2. Brett Williams

4. Matt Hoffert

6. Mike Bangtson

8. Daniel Sale

10. Jared Deines

12. Luke Patterson

14. Alec Braun

16. Blake Ruane

18. Jeremy Good

20. Tony Patterson

MVP Voting Results

1. Jared Deines - 15 votes

2. Mike Bangtson - 1 vote

2. Matt Hoffert - 1 vote

2. Dustin Salmons – 1 vote

2. Brett Williams - 1 vote

All-Turkey Team Selections

Team Orange Crush

1. Dustin Salmons - Captain

2. Jared Deines – 36 votes

3. Daniel Sale - 30 votes

4. Matt Hoffert - 32 votes

5. Brett Williams – 29 votes

6. Luke Patterson – 26 votes

Others receiving votes: Mike Bangtson (23), Blake Ruane (15), Tony Patterson (8), Jeremy Good (5), Alec Braun (3)

Team 1919 Root Beer

1. Bobby Brummel – 32 votes

2. Matt Hinders - 25 votes

2. Zack Welter - 25 votes

4. Taylor Anderson – 23 votes

Others receiving votes: Tyler Ruane (20), Kevin Bernard (13), Mark Iehl (11), Ben Patterson (7), Ethan Korf (6), Michael Rogers (3), Ryan Rink (2)

Tweets From the Game





Didn't quite get the MVP, but it was a good run. Made the All Turkey Team this time around @CF_Turkey_Bowl #Hinders4TBMVP #IIISettle4ATT





Win or lose its always a fun time playing in the @CF_Turkey_Bowl!



